Donutfest

How many donuts are you allowed to consume in a day?

How about in a year?

More than a year ago today, hubby and I had joined Krispy Kreme’s Fave Fan contest.  The original contest website is no longer up, but you can check out this other blog for details.  A trip to the US, and a tour of their headquarters, and a chance to design a donut for them? Bring it on!  Count us in!

Personally, the first time I tried Krispy Kreme was when I was on vacation in the US more than a decade ago.  My cousin and her friend took me and my family on a roadtrip to Las Vegas, and she brought along two dozen Krispy Kreme donuts.  Two dozen soft, melt-in-your-mouth donuts.  Of course, since I was much younger then, and much thinner(!), my parents did not stop me from eating too many donuts.  Back then, I only knew the glazed donuts.  I didn’t know they made all sorts of assorted goodies.

So fast forward a few years, and here we are enjoying Krispy Kreme in the Philippines.  I miss the free samples that they give out when you’re in line and the donuts are freshly cooked and still warm.

Hubby did the 72-word essay that we submitted for their 72nd year anniversary contest.  He has a fancy way with words, and that landed us as one of the top 12 finalists.  Facebook friends will remember how I bugged them practically everyday to vote for us.  You guys are super!

A few weeks after the deadline, we received our Fave Fan Ticket that entitled us to one dozed glazed donuts a week for six months.  Yes, you read it right, SIX MONTHS!  Now, before you start rambling about how two people can eat so many donuts and not eventually die of obesity, let me clear it up.  We didn’t eat the donuts.  We gave it away and shared it with friends and family.  And hubby brought some with him to his class, and gave away to his students.  We pretty much didn’t taste the first 23 dozens.  But we agreed that we would get the last set, and so we did last night.  Now, less than 24 hours since, there are seven remaining in the box.  The only other finalist that I know is Azrael, and I’m pretty sure he’s finished his several dozens too.

Here’s a snapshot of our ticket…

Thank you, Krispy Kreme Philippines!

Leave a Reply

