Eggplant Lasagna

This recipe was inspired by two things: what I thawed in the ref before I left for work in the morning, and extra (leftover) fresh tomatoes.  Served with the tomato with cheese appetizer.
I thawed some ground beef, intending to cook it with the usual baguio beans with oyster sauce.  But like I said before, I like variety once in a while.  So after browsing the internet for a while, I finally decided on what to cook. Eggplant lasagna.  This is close to a veggie pasta dish I tried before at The Chocolate Kiss Café, called Eggplant Parmigiana .
 
The trickiest part for me, really, is choosing the eggplants.  I have seen eggplants that look really good and smooth outside, but would have wiggly things when I slice them.  My husband calls them “extra protein” – double eeewwww.  I purchased four eggplants, and three were good.  Not bad.   Tsk.
So for the recipe.  Peel and boil the eggplants.  In my case, I even sliced them into two before boiling because they would not fit in my pan.  I also made incisions on the side to check for the presence of extra protein providers.  After boiling, drain ang mash them as you would when cooking tortang talong.  Yes, I checked for protein adders again (they should have a name for phobias like this one).  Layer them on a baking tray.
 
While I was mashing up the eggplants, I already started cooking the sauce.  Cook the ground beef in a pan.  I always do that first to get rid of the fatty oil. I used about two clumps of ground beef, each about the size of an egg.  After removing the oil from the pan, add some minced garlic and chopped onions and cook until the onions become somewhat translucent.  After that, I threw in the tomatoes, seeds removed and chopped into small cubes.  I would have preferred to use canned tomatoes, as they would cook faster, but remember that I had some tomatoes in the ref that I had to use. Also, I threw in some leftover tomato sauce, a part of which was used in making the sauce for a sweet and sour dish.
Add salt and pepper, and a teaspoon or so of sugar. Mix together and simmer in the stove until the tomatoes are cooked.  I added water in small increments whenever the sauce seemed to be becoming too thick.  It took about 15 to 20 minutes.
Spread the sauce on top of the mashed eggplant layer, and add grated cheese on top.  Cover the baking tray with foil and bake for 5 minutes in the oven. Note that I only have a toaster oven at home, so I don’t know what temperature that was.  Afterwards, remove the foil cover and bake for another 1-2 minutes, just to give the cheese a nice brown effect.
Funny side story, turns out I used a baking pan with the paper label still taped to its bottom side.  Yes, it was crunchy and crispy afterwards.
I served it with mashed potatoes on the side.  To make the mashed potatoes — peel, dice, and boil the potatoes.  Drain the liquid, then mash them on a separate boil while hot.  I mix mine with butter and all-purpose cream and a sprinkle of salt.  Always add the butter first.  The heat from the potatoes will melt the butter and make it easier to mix in.  For the cream, add it in small quantities until you’re satisfied.  One tablespoon might be enough for one potato.
 
When you’re done with the potatoes, take the baking tray out of the oven and serve everything while hot.  It was a good combination.  Next time, I might layer the mashed potatoes at the bottom and layer the eggplant pasta on top of it.  J
 
Comments
2 Responses to “Eggplant Lasagna”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] was served as an appetizer to my Eggplant Lasagna […]

  2. […] was served because there was leftover cream from the Eggplant Lasagna dish.  I used cream for both the sauce and on the mashed potatoes that went with it.  The […]



Leave a Reply

