Braised Pork Ribs version 1

 

 

This is a recipe that I got from A Good Appetite, which in turn was taken from Eating Out Loud.  I called it version 1 because I’m pretty sure I’ll have other braised recipes for pork ribs in the future.

(typing as I drink my cold milk with dark chocolate syrup)

This is my first time to use rice wine.  We have cooking wine, which my husband bought, which I don’t know how to use.  I’ve read articles that say rice wine is definitely not the same thing as cooking wine. I’ve seen recipes that say to use rice wine, so I thought it was time to try out buying a small bottle.

The thing that I did alter with the recipe is that I used pancake syrup as a sweetener.  It worked well for me. 🙂

Pre-boil the pork ribs.  I always boil a big batch, then take a small serving  to cook just enough for dinner.  This is a braised dish, so make sure you add the seasonings in before the meat gets too tender.

Add the ingredients with a little amount of broth: minced garlic, minced ginger, 1 cup rice wine, half cup soy sauce, 2 tablespoons hoisin sauce, 2 tablespoons pancake syrup.  I don’t have chili flakes, and knew that a bit of spice would be nice, so I used paprika instead.  Chopped chili was also added as garnish, as you can see from the picture.  Anyhow, back to the boiling.  Boil everything together, uncovered.  You want the sauce to thicken, exactly at the right time when the meat is soft enough.  If the timing isn’t right yet, add small amounts of water and stir.  Easy, wasn’t it?  The thick sticky sauce was perfect with the white rice and green veggies. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

