Tofu Steak

I told my hubby that I had a surprise prepared for lunch.  This is a surprise because I don’t eat tofu. 🙂

This was inspired from my mom’s favorite dish over at Teriyaki Boy.  I told hubby that japanese tofu was easier for me to “endure” because they were so soft that I could swallow them real quick. Haha.  But really, the meat mixture was so tasty that I hardly noticed that I was eating tofu, and the texture was awesome.  The hard part, as you can see, was frying the tofu without breaking it apart into small bits.

First, I heated up the oil over low fire while preparing the meat mix.  Ingredients for the meat mix:

One whole white onion, sliced into slivers

Spring onions, cut into 2-inch strips

Ground pork

Oyster sauce

Garlic powder (or fresh minced garlic)

Shiitake mushrooms (I used dried, but fresh ones would work better)

Starch and water

Seasoning/soy sauce

Add a little oil to the pan and cook the onion slices until soft and translucent.  Add the rehydrated mushrooms, pre-sliced into thin strips.  Add the ground meat, stirring until the meat is fully cooked.  Add a dash of pepper, a bit of Maggi Savor,  and the oyster sauce.  I used about 3 tablespoons of oyster sauce.  Mix thoroughly, then add the starch solution.  We want it to be thick, so use more starch than usual.  I’d say about 2 tablespoons of starch for 1/4 cup of water.  Cook until the sauce becomes translucent in color, then set the pan aside.

Now the tofu.  Slice them into desired size.  Use japanese tofu, or some groceries will call them silk tofu.  Beat an egg in a bowl, and prepare the breadcrumbs in another bowl.  Coat each tofu piece with egg on all sides then coat with breadcrumbs.  Trust me on this one, don’t make the tofu too thin.  The egg helps make the breadcrumbs stick to the tofu.  Then deep fry until golden brown.

When all the tofu pieces have been fried, put the pan with the meat mix back into the flame and add the spring onions.  We add them last so that they’ll retain their bright green hue prior to serving.  Just keep in the heat until the sauce rebubbles (is that even a word??)  then transfer to a plate and add the fried tofu on top.  There was a lot more tofu compared to what you see in the picture.  The block of tofu that I bought was about the size of two blackboard erasers.

P.S.  Teriyaki Boy usually serves it with the meat mix on top.  Just sayin’… for all the OC people out there. 🙂

Comments
One Response to “Tofu Steak”
Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] I Googled the recipe and these two from and looked promising. Tofu steak by emnidy Tofu steak by The Hoppy Mommy Bunny I tweaked the recipes a bit but I loved the result. It does […]



Leave a Reply

