Asparagus with Leeks

I first had asparagus with leeks at one of the local chinese restaurants.  Back then, I think it was a trick to make it look plentiful since asparagus isn’t exactly the most widely available vegetable in Manila.  However, I did like the combination of the refreshing leeks against the  strong taste of the asparagus.  To add a bit of sweetness, I added some red onions too.  Just stir fry with a little garlic and that’s it!  In the picture, they were served as a side dish to some barbecued chicken.

image

Ans speaking of leeks, check out these gigantic Australian leeks that I saw at the supermarket.  The regular ones that I use are on the right,while the ones on the left were at least 2 inches in diameter.  I would have loved to try them, but they were priced at over Php200 each.  Cool, huh? 🙂 

image

Leave a Reply

