Clawdaddy Buffet


Just had an awesome lunch at Clawdaddy.  It started with an ad that I saw on a newspaper on a Sunday morning.  I immediately snapped a picture of the ad to capture the details and the phone numbers. This was a good deal because if you order a la carte on their crabs and ribs, the bill would easily reach php2000.

image

I sent a text message to my mom and dad to ask them if they would like to try it.  Being that we were heading to Robinsons Magnolia that day, we decided to take a peek at what they had to offer.  My mom and dad declined due to health reasons, being that they need to watch their cholesterol levels, so hubby and I decided to go for it on the following weekend.  On a happy note, he invited his good friend and he and his wife joined us.  After a bowl of nice warm soup, we got ready to attack the buffet table.

image

 

First up, the salad spread.  Nice and colorful, ain’t it?

image

 

Next to it are the appetizers.  I tried the fried rolls on the left and they were stuffed with some vegetables and potatoes and the dip was a nice tangy mayo-based dip.  On a side note, I also like how they dressed up their buffet table to make it look like a picnic.

image

Now, the star of the show, at least for me, the crabs!  On this picture is the Salt and Pepper variety, which my friend had recommended to the best one amongst the 3 possible flavors.  It was awesome!  And the meat was soft and juicy… The other 2 variations were the seafood boil, which included clams and mussels, and the szechuan style which had a saucy coating to it.

image

image

The ad did say it was a Crab and Ribs buffet right?  So here is the star of hubby’s plate, the ribs.  We’ve eaten at Clawdaddy before and the ribs never disappoint us.  I think I had 4 pieces, aside from the mountainful of crabs that I consumed.

image

Between the crabs and ribs were several kinds of sides — mashed potatoes, beans, corn, grilled vegetables, mac and cheese.  The mashed potatoes had chunks of potato and were really good.

image

There was also some barbecued chicken (which I didn’t try, but I’m pretty sure it had the same flavoring as the ribs) and some fish and chips.  The fish was really, really good.  I should have asked what kind of fish it was.

image

There was also a pasta station and they would cook the sauce for you however you liked it.  I didn’t try this one because I’m cutting down on carbs and I know that pasta will make you feel fuller faster.

image

image

Finally, the dessert options.  Of course I tried everything.  The cake is a mango flavored and had a nice sweet-sour mix in it.  The cream puffs — I was delighted to find that the non-pink one was coffee-flavored!  Thumbs up!  The little cups had chocolate pudding, which I found to be a bit too sweet, but tasted awesome with the fresh strawberry on top.  It also saved you from altering the flavors on your tongue after a couple of hours of pigging out on the crabs and ribs.
image

image

Overall, it was a really good lunch.  The flavors were nice and we left full and satisfied without being overly stuffed.  Not to forget that the conversation over lunch was also relaxing and we certainly took our time in enjoying the spread.  The boys had nothing but raves on the ribs, and we girls had showed no mercy on the crabs.  Granted that the crabs are not as big as what you would normally get on their a la carte menu, it was still a very good deal as the crabs that they served were fresh and juicy and we had no trouble shelling them.  Will definitely recommend this to my friends. 🙂

image

Comments
4 Responses to “Clawdaddy Buffet”
  1. Dennis says:

    Crabs!!! Glad to see your blog up and updated.

  2. V says:

    Noice review! wanna try this! 🙂 btw, are the drinks free and unlimited? 🙂

Leave a Reply

