PF Chang Mongolian Pork

So I’ve never been to PF Chang but my friends have told stories and squealed in excitement when they opened their first branch in Manila.  I wasn’t too excited to try it because I knew the prices would be sky high.  Other than McDonald’s, every other food place franchised from the US is expensive.  Think IHOP, Ruby Tuesdays, Johnny Rocketts…

My excitement came when I found a recipe on Casa Veneracion featuring the mongolian beef/pork dish from PF Chang.  I haven’t been to the original restaurant, but I trusted the blog a lot for lots of reliable yummy recipes.  And it was a hit at lunch.

 

IMG_8305

Marinade was done overnight since I had no time to cook it during the weekday.  And it appealed to me since I already had all the ingredients in my cupboard.  The rice wine most of all.   And it was easy to cook!  The only hard part was that it was a 2-step process, frying and glazing, which meant I had to use 2 pans.  But never you mind, hubby enjoyed the dish so much that he never complained about washing 2 pans.

Marinade:  3 parts Hoisin sauce, 4 parts soy sauce, a dash of sesame oil, enough cornstarch to coat the meat

Fry meat pieces until brown (I cut mine to small and thin slices to make the cooking time faster)

Glaze in a mixture of: 1 tablespoon each of minced ginger (I used the garlic crusher hah!), garlic (I used the powdered ones), 4 parts soy sauce to 3 parts sugar to 2 parts rice wine.  The recipe that I followed asked for more sugar, but we’re really conscious about our sugar levels so I used less.

After the frying part, the meat already came out really tasty.  Smells good too.  But the glaze definitely took it a step further.  I thought the minced spring onions was just to make it more visually appealing, but it really did give a nice contrast to the saltiness of the dish.  I will definitely make it again next time. 🙂

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

